











Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations

2 April 2020

All Permanent Representatives and Permanent Observers to the United Nations New York

Copy to: His Excellency Tijjani Muhammad-Bande

President of the General Assembly

Excellencies,

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION "GLOBAL SOLIDARITY TO FIGHT THE CORONAVIRUS DISEASE 2019 (COVID-19)", A/74/L.52

We thank you for supporting the resolution "Global Solidarity to Fight the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)" adopted by the General Assembly on 2 April 2020. Your support for the adoption, as well as the unprecedented number of 188 co-sponsors, reflects the strong desire of all members to work together, in a spirit of unity and global solidarity to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic. We can all be proud that, in very difficult circumstances, all of us engaged with each other constructively and rallied together to make a strong statement in support of the UN and of multilateralism.

We regard the adoption of this resolution as only the beginning of a challenging process to facilitate a coordinated and coherent global response to support governments and people around the world who are adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. There is much operational work ahead that needs to be done, by UN Member States, by the UN system as a whole and by all other relevant institutions and stakeholders. We can only succeed if we work together, by pooling our resources, sharing our knowledge, and pulling in the same direction.

We look forward to continuing the engagement and discussions that we have begun with many of you. Once again, we express our deepest appreciation to you for your support for the adoption of this resolution.

Please accept, Excellencies, the assurances of our highest consideration.

**H.E. MARTHA AMA AKYAA POBEE** PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF GHANA

H.E. DIAN TRIANSYAH DJANI PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA

H.E. CHRISTIAN WENAWESER PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF THE PRINCIPALITY OF LIECHTENSTEIN H.E. MONA JUUL PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF NORWAY

H.E. BURHAN GAFOOR
PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE
OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE

H.E. JÜRG LAUBER
PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF
SWITZERLAND